Fake Facebook E-mail Infected with Trojan
Posted: Wednesday, November 25, 2009
by Angeline Mabute
http://www.techienow.com
Are you addicted to Facebook? Beware!
Because MX Lab, a security firm, detected a new variant of Bredolab Trojan horse attached to a fake "Facebook Password Reset Confirmation" email. Some users claim that the e-mail comes from "The Facebook Team" where the sender's e-mail address is displays as "service@facebook.com." Unfortunately, the address and sender were disguised.
M86 Security, another security watchdog, said that Bredolab don't just sneak into the computer of the user but also downloads a bot called Pushdo. Pushdo will immediately start spamming out more Facebook password reset e-mails. Facebook explained that the e-mail containing the virus is not coming from them. According to them, they will never send users a new password as attachment. They advised the users to immediately have their computers run a virus scan. Facebook users should be careful with a fake e-mail disguising as a Facebook password reset e-mail containing an attachment of the new password but in reality, contains a virus.
Facebook is one of the most popular social networking sites worldwide. With these fake and infected Facebook e-mails spreading around, users must be careful in opening and downloading malicious e-mails and attachments.
If your computer has been infected with Bredolab Trojan horse, contact Techie Now. We are willing to solve your problem. With our virus removal services, Techie Now will treat your computer right and everything will be alright.
This Article has been viewed 177 times. (Not updated in real-time.)
Top-level comments on this article: (2 total)Thanks for the head's up - great info here! Marijo
Hope everyone will be able to read this so that they will be aware and be careful in using Facebook.
We want your comments! If you can read this, you don't have javascript enabled, so you can't use this comment system. Please enable javascript.
